Yes, I've been a lousy blogger. In an effort to get back on track, I thought I'd tell you about a great wine we had last night. 

The 2006 Coyam Emiliana is a bathtub blend of Syrah, Merlot, Carmenere, Cabernet Sauvignon and Malbec from the Colchagua Valley in Chile. Wine Spectator gave it a 91 point rating, with which I wholeheartedly agree. It is a beautiful violet color and is full bodied, well balanced and very smooth.  Everything I love in a wine! On the palate it smacks of ripe black fruits, with notes of oak, minerals, toffee and chocolate, giving it a wonderful complexity.  This would go well with roasted meat, hearty pasta sauce and strong cheese (although I confess that I had it with some Thin Mint Girl Scout cookies....not a bad pairing if I do say so myself!).  We found this for $30 a bottle and it is a great wine for the price. 



Leave a Reply.