I love Wednesdays. The Wine Wednesday meme on Twitter never fails to make me smile.  It's also been the source of some great wine knowledge and wonderful new friends.  Not that any one day is better than another for wine - let's not discriminate after all! - but Wine Wednesday really brings people together, as wine tends to do in real life.
"Wine improves with age - the older I get, the better I like it!"
Jason and I implemented a no-wine-on-weeknights policy a while back.  (Please don't make me turn in my wino card!)  We both get up at 5:30a.m. and, in addition, are trying to watch our waistlines.  So we decided that, mostly, we'd abstain on school nights.  This has worked pretty well and, thankfully, neither of us needs much persuading if the other is in the mood for some vino on a particular night.  But let me tell you, sharing a bottle of wine before bed and then getting up to hit the treadmill at 5:30a.m. can be just a bit brutal!

Anyway, last night, to celebrate my birthday, we had a bottle of Hogue Cellars Reserve 2005 Merlot.  We bought a few bottles of this from Cellar Thief (more on them later, what a great company) and I didn't remember the first bottle being as good as the one we drank last night.  The '05 Reserve Merlot was rated 90 points by Wine Spectator and was the perfect thing for a very cold evening.  It had the expected black cherry and raspberry fruit, along with some oak and pepper.  It was rich and well balanced with supple tannin structure.  I really liked this wine and am thinking we might need to look for more of it! Highly recommended.

And because we imbibed last night (and paid the piper this morning!), I'm thinking our Wine Wednesday celebration will be non-alcoholic this week! Maybe. Cheers!



Leave a Reply.